Kia Forte Turbo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the 2016 sx at. I don't want to do many mods to my car (initially, I am sure after a while this will change) as the stock performance is pretty great. However, is there anything that can be done to increase performance at the low end. When I start off in 1st gear from a stop the car is not very responsive until the turbo spools up.
Basically I hit the accelerator and it accelerates slow so push harder on the gas then bam boost kicks in and it is at 4500 - 5500 rpm. Would like to have a smoother acceleration from a stop.
I am a total noob when it comes to turbos and I have learned a lot from reading this forum.
I understand that the issue is the turbo can't produce any boost at low rpms as there isn't enough exhaust to compress the air.
So any tweaks that can overcome this?

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
Nope, not really.
Bigger engine... with more torque on the low end. You get 1.6 that makes maybe 120 HP and 110 lb*ft if naturally aspirated. So do not expect very hard pull at idle speed.

What did you drive earlier?

I quite frankly do not find this one to be slow in 1st gear, but I am talking M/T.

·
Registered
521 Posts
Our motors make full torque at 1750 rpms with very little if any noticable lag. Drive something with a huge single scroll turbo and you'll know what lag is.

Any more torque down low and you'll spin your wheels through Sunday.

·
Registered
524 Posts
Yeah just came here to say that ^. Our twin scroll setup has very little lag to speak of and is putting out max torque at just 1750rpms.

·
Registered
981 Posts