Kia Forte Turbo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 197 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so this thread is dedicated to making our horrid stereo system sound decent/ incredible.
What I want is to start, a list of speaker sizes and locations (I'm sure it's out there I will look)
Then I only want people to post what they have tried, and if they kept the try or didn't.
Also I'd like someone whose good with systems to chime in and tell us what our systems are missing. . I would like to say keep the stock deck with the improvements

I have a rental car that a Chrysler 200 base model and the sound system is BEAUTIFUL. Thus why I'm posting this.
So, let's see/here what you think or have done.
Thanks

·
Registered
633 Posts
I plan on adding my sub and amp in the spring and using the OEM deck. I've never used a LOC before but I don't imagine I'll have any problems.

I have read that if you want to use a LOC its best to either tap directly behind the deck, or the front speakers... But do not use the rear speakers as they receive less input than the front.

Also heard that the stock deck is pretty weak to power the speakers, so a new amp is also needed.

Just upgrading the speakers will provide minimal improvement.

If anyone has a wiring diagram for the NAV and non-NAV units please share!

·
Registered
524 Posts
Yeah from what I've gathered the stock speakers are actually somewhat decent if you just swap out to an aftermarket deck.

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Didn't know that about using front for loc, I kinda wonder if there's a way without too much complication to add amps to the stock deck.... The stock speakers look oddly similar to some Kenwoods....

·
Registered
120 Posts