Kia Forte Turbo Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From all I've read on reviews on turbo 4 cars like ours, Veloster Turbo, Focus/Fiesta ST, etc. they all say the power curve dips off well before stock redline due to the inherent nature of a small displacement turbo engine. How does tuning overcome this? I'm a laymen so the more simpler the explanation the better.

My limited understanding is that manufacturers set parameters to meet safe goals of performance/fuel efficiency/reliability; when raising it beyond stock specs, how 'unsafe' is it for a daily driver? Are we talking years off its lifespan like smoking 2 packs a day or more benign like eating fried chicken once in a while?

Forgive the analogies. I did say I was a layman.

·
Registered
514 Posts
i can't tell you but if you don't get a good answer here VT forums definitely will

·
Registered
534 Posts
Boost fall off is directly related to the size of the turbo and the motor itself. I always think of boost as a measure of resistance. The more you open up the intake side of things the less boost you will have even though the air volume would be the same. The exhaust also plays a role as well as the size of both wheels on the turbo, exhaust piping size etc. It really is a complex formula.

Rev limit had many factors such as bore and stroke, valves springs, and others I can't think of off the top of my head.

How those things will continue to wear and tear I am not sure though.

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
Before you dig deep, ask yourself a few questions.

Mainly this one - how often you hit rev limiter now?

I got tune, can-tune.
I will walk you through a few things here.

Initially, completely stock - I would hit 18 psi from time to time, most of the time it was 16, 17, when going above 5000 rpm it would start falling to about 15, upshift, boost jumps to 18 and holds 16-17.
It would have uneven power sometimes, fuel would not really treat this issue.
So...