Kia Forte Turbo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm planing to install a cone air filter (most likely the specter) and do the simple mod of removing the recirculating tube from the stock intake to produce a louder "PHHSSSS". Before doing these mods, I would like to ask to those who has done it, did it caused an issue in your engine? Have't you got any problem with the turbo (lag, performance degrade, long time damage) and/or engine (CEL issues) that made you regret installing these mods? This is my first time modifying a car and I'm worried about the warranty. Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
981 Posts
That was the first thing I did 2 years ago and never an issue from it, just more noise.

·
Registered
524 Posts
I just recently did it myself a couple weeks ago. No apparent difference in turbo lag or performance. I did not remove the hose. Just unplugged the top part and plugged the intake. Simple as could be to hook it back up for dealer visits. I don't think there's any real benefit to going to the cone filter in place over the stock.

·
Registered
445 Posts
Remove that hose and the blow off sound will be louder. :cool: I have not noticed any more lag or any engine issues at all.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
some-people-just-58hhva.jpg

haha

·
Premium Member
139 Posts
Hi,

I'm planing to install a cone air filter (most likely the specter) and do the simple mod of removing the recirculating tube from the stock intake to produce a louder "PHHSSSS". Before doing these mods, I would like to ask to those who has done it, did it caused an issue in your engine? Have't you got any problem with the turbo (lag, performance degrade, long time damage) and/or engine (CEL issues) that made you regret installing these mods? This is my first time modifying a car and I'm worried about the warranty. Thanks for your time.