[VENDOR][FS] LAP3 Uncle Chip Performance Tune - K5 Optima Store - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Kia Forte Turbo Forum - Powered by vBulletin

[VENDOR][FS] LAP3 Uncle Chip Performance Tune - K5 Optima Store

This is a discussion on [VENDOR][FS] LAP3 Uncle Chip Performance Tune - K5 Optima Store within the K5 Optima Store forums, part of the Vendors category; Originally Posted by PLP You sound like you have/had this... KIA report on Veloster forum New Turbo and mods - Page 2 So if this ...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: [VENDOR][FS] LAP3 Uncle Chip Performance Tune - K5 Optima Store

  1. #21
    Supporting Vendor Paul@K5OptimaStore's Avatar
    Member #
    496
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    361
    Thanked
    83 times
    Member #
    496
    Liked
    83 times
    Quote Originally Posted by PLP View Post
    You sound like you have/had this...

    KIA report on Veloster forum
    New Turbo and mods - Page 2



    So if this can be used on multiple vehicles and can be resold, will the connectors work?? We might be getting Hyundai... will this work on Hyundai as well if I remove it from KIA?
    Not sure if that instance on the VT forums was user error or not but if hooked up correctly I dont recall there ever being any faulty chips.

    The Lap3 Chip can be used on multiple cars, it's not like a reflash that pairs to that ECU. You can use it between Hyundai and Kia as well.

  2. #22
    Supporting Vendor Paul@K5OptimaStore's Avatar
    Member #
    496
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    361
    Thanked
    83 times
    Member #
    496
    Liked
    83 times
    Quote Originally Posted by PLP View Post
    You miss one more thing here, which is How quickly tachometer shows you true RPM.
    It might be RPM is already at redline, but tacho is still 300 behind. Also, ECU/PCM can predict how long the shift takes and when it must start shifting to NOT hit rev limiter, because if it does - engine will stall. And your acceleration is killed.

    I would like to know exactly what Lap 3 does. Does it affect compressor and when and how it spins?
    Very good points, [mention]Caezar[/mention].
    The Lap3 Chip, is a piggyback system that increases performance by raising boost.

    What compressor are you referring to?

  3. #23
    Senior Member GotBoost?'s Avatar
    Member #
    112
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    518
    Thanked
    192 times
    Member #
    112
    Liked
    192 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 2014:1.6lT View Post
    Mine shifts like 300 before redline.... I wish they woulda had a manual.. But autos are faster stock haha
    is that just based on magazine reviews about autos being faster? i bang my gears hard enough though that it shifts pretty damn fast lol. i remember seeing you get tuned in phoenix and i thought you only hit like 200-205. did you get it dynoed again at a later time? and were you still running that double bov setup with the pvc plumber pipe?
    FULLY BOLTED AND TUNED

  4. Remove Advertisements
    ForteTurbo.org
    Advertisements
     

  5. #24
    PLP
    PLP is offline
    Senior Member PLP's Avatar
    Member #
    433
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Haslett, MI
    Posts
    1,619
    Thanked
    328 times
    Member #
    433
    Liked
    328 times
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    The Lap3 Chip, is a piggyback system that increases performance by raising boost.

    What compressor are you referring to?
    Turbo... that's technically a compressor, hence I called it like that.

    Any more detailed info as what this system does?

    So in other words, the exactly same chip will work on both 2.0 T Sonata and 1.6 T Forte? Pigtails are same?

    Quote Originally Posted by GotBoost? View Post
    is that just based on magazine reviews about autos being faster?
    The trick KIA did to pretend AUTO is faster was to change gear ratios in A/T.
    A/T has shorter gears 1-4 (or 1-3 - I do not recall exactly in which gear they start matching M/T). Then the last two gears are taller. Therefore, A/T will have lower RPM at highway speeds than M/T.
    Overall, having so short gears A/T will be quicker than many "regular" M/T drivers, unless you really quickly shift and completely use the given power.

  6. #25
    Senior Member 2014:1.6lT's Avatar
    Member #
    177
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Posts
    481
    Thanked
    107 times
    Member #
    177
    Liked
    107 times
    Quote Originally Posted by GotBoost? View Post
    is that just based on magazine reviews about autos being faster? i bang my gears hard enough though that it shifts pretty damn fast lol. i remember seeing you get tuned in phoenix and i thought you only hit like 200-205. did you get it dynoed again at a later time? and were you still running that double bov setup with the pvc plumber pipe?
    It was 220 on the last run, unless I'm off completely. And I just threw that on to see if it did anything, I don't run it normally

  7. #26
    Supporting Vendor Paul@K5OptimaStore's Avatar
    Member #
    496
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    361
    Thanked
    83 times
    Member #
    496
    Liked
    83 times
    Quote Originally Posted by PLP View Post
    Turbo... that's technically a compressor, hence I called it like that.
    Gotcha, that makes sense I've just never heard anyone refer to it in that way.

    Quote Originally Posted by PLP View Post
    So in other words, the exactly same chip will work on both 2.0 T Sonata and 1.6 T Forte? Pigtails are same?

    Correct, this can be used across Kia and Hyundai and between different makes among those brands

  8. #27
    Senior Member
    Member #
    130
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    309
    Thanked
    44 times
    Member #
    130
    Liked
    44 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 2014:1.6lT View Post
    Although I think this is a pretty cool set up, especially with no portable options available... For $500, I got a tork tune, and on 91 octane I put 220 HP to the wheels.... I'm sure a lot went into your product, but the price may be a bit much I think...
    For $500 you put over 40+ horses to the wheels? We're there supporting mods or just the tune? I'm guessing stock it's no more tha 180hp wheel hp. Fuck me that is a huge power to dollars value, are we talking 240+ crank?

  9. #28
    Senior Member
    Member #
    130
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    309
    Thanked
    44 times
    Member #
    130
    Liked
    44 times
    Hi Paul, not to threadcrap your thread because it's essentially your livelihood but I read a while ago that the LAP3 chip is not very reliable and actually caused damage to the person's car. That said, it was one person and there are so many variables which could have contributed to their issue but as a seller/vendor, have you heard of any issues minor or otherwise with this setup?
    2014 "Black Mamba" Forte5 SX 6MT

  10. #29
    Supporting Vendor Paul@K5OptimaStore's Avatar
    Member #
    496
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    361
    Thanked
    83 times
    Member #
    496
    Liked
    83 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Forte5GT View Post
    Hi Paul, not to threadcrap your thread because it's essentially your livelihood but I read a while ago that the LAP3 chip is not very reliable and actually caused damage to the person's car. That said, it was one person and there are so many variables which could have contributed to their issue but as a seller/vendor, have you heard of any issues minor or otherwise with this setup?
    I'm not sure the specific instance you're referring to but as you said there are many factors that play into tuning for these engines.

    Variables that can contribute to issues include customers choosing NOT to use required HKS spark plugs, improperly gaped plugs, Kia/Hyundai engine recalled engines (engines predisposed to engine failure) or use of the incorrect gas/incorrect chip setting.

    That being said "modified or tuned engines carry additional risks. Any risks associated with running a tune on a vehicle are solely that of the vehicle owner".
    K5 Optima Store
    (213) 785-7512
    [email protected] / [email protected]

    "Your one-stop shop for Kia & Hyundai OEM/Aftermarket parts"

  11. #30
    Supporting Vendor K5 Optima Store's Avatar
    Member #
    166
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA
    Posts
    44
    Thanked
    5 times
    Member #
    166
    Liked
    5 times
    Looking for that extra power increase on your Forte turbo?

    Then look no further, we have this in stock and ready to ship out!

    If anyone has any questions about this product or any of the products we sell, please don't hesitate to reach out to us anytime

    [email protected]
    K5 Optima Store
    (213) 785-7512
    [email protected] /
    "Your one-stop shop for Kia & Hyundai OEM/Aftermarket parts"

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Remove Ads

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Lap3 Uncle Chip
    By lephoenix in forum Kia Forte Turbo Performance
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 04-27-2016, 06:20 AM
  2. Spare wheel. Will other models fit? Such as Rondo, Optima, Sonata...
    By PLP in forum Kia Forte Turbo Wheels and Tires
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2016, 12:30 PM
  3. Forte 5 vs Optima 2.0t
    By Forte5 in forum Kia Forte Turbo vs The Competition
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-10-2016, 11:50 AM
  4. Some interesting news for 2016 Forte vs. Optima
    By BigVin1770 in forum Kia Forte Turbo Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-10-2016, 09:38 PM
  5. Turbosocks Performance is a Supporting Vendor!
    By NickJ in forum Turbosocks Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2014, 07:19 AM

Search tags for this page

how does the lap3 uncle chip work

,

k5 optima chip

,

loss of power lap3 chip installed optima

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread