Battery question(s)
Close
Login to Your Account
Kia Forte Turbo Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Battery question(s)

This is a discussion on Battery question(s) within the Kia Forte Turbo Electronics forums, part of the Kia Forte Turbo Garage category; I've been driving a 2017 Forte5 SX for about 1 1/2 years, but my FIXD diagnostic scan said today that the "resting battery" is 11.7 ...

Thread: Battery question(s)

Member #
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times

Battery question(s)

I've been driving a 2017 Forte5 SX for about 1 1/2 years, but my FIXD diagnostic scan said today that the "resting battery" is 11.7 V . I've read that a normal battery should have a resting rate of 12.5 V and that below 12 is "critical". Different youtube clips say a car battery shouldn't need to be replaced for 4 or 5 years. So, should I replace my battery with only 1 1/2 years of use? The car starts and operates fine and there are no apparent symptoms of a dying or weak battery. One other wrinkle: a Rockford Fosgate R250 X 4 Amp was installed when I bought the car. Since I listen to mp3 music files, I need the extra punch in order to have decent sounding music. I don't know if that would cause the battery to drain faster than normal? But I could never go back to not using an amp. Also the speakers were change to Infinity, but I digress.

So, should I replace the battery now before I possibly get stranded somewhere?

When I do replace the battery, what are good batteries for this car? Is there a more powerful battery option considering the extra load of using an amp?

Thanks for any feedback!

PLP
    Member #
    Member #
    Liked
    328 times
    Resting battery voltage... that is what loads are applied?
    Is it read the moment you turn ignition on?

Member #
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    No, its with the ignition turned off (the fixd/OBII plugged in) and I click on the battery scan on my phone app (instructions say to have the car turned off).

4. Remove Advertisements